Remove or delete an email account from Outlook

Removing an email account from Outlook doesn’t deactivate the email account. If you want to deactivate your account, talk to your email account provider. Once you delete an account from Outlook, you’ll no longer be able to send and receive mail from that account in Outlook.

These instructions are for the Microsoft 365 subscription version of Outlook, Outlook 2019, Outlook 2016, 2013, and 2010 only. If you’re using Windows 10 Mail, see Delete an email account from Mail and Calendar apps and Mail and Calendar for Windows 10 FAQ.

  1. From the main Outlook window, select File in the upper left corner of the screen.

    Select Account Settings to delete an account.
     
  2. Select Account Settings Account Settings.
  3. Select the account you want to delete, then select Remove.
  4. You’ll see a message warning you that all offline cached content for this account will be deleted. This only affects content downloaded and stored on your computer.
  5. Select Yes to confirm.

Powered by BetterDocs